ASM-Marine Frostbite Series 2010

02 March, 2010

Despite the record breaking cold temperatures that have been a feature of the 2010 winter, the last day of the season brought further sunshine accompanied by an invigorating Force 5 north-westerly wind.

Just two races were needed on the day to complete the series with the maximum number of twelve races completed. The first race, a windward leeward, got off to a trouble free start with the combined Laser Fleet keenly contesting the start-line, followed by the Squibs and finally the Mixed Dinghies. The second race, incorporating a triangular leg, required a delay as the course was reorganised to allow for a thirty degree windshift.

Ronan Kenneally (MBSC) became the 2010 Overall Winner in the Laser Standard Class as he copper-fastened his lead position with a further second and a first. Despite a relatively late start in Race One, Ronan managed to secure a well deserved second place by the finish. In an aggressively contested start in Race Two, he stayed out of trouble as several boats were disqualified for being on course side, and went on to a comfortable win. The surprise winner of Race One was Robert Howe (RCYC), not having featured prominently in many races previously throughout the series. Others had a day of mixed fortunes, with the best of the results being Mark Mulrooney (TBSC) with a fourth and third, Michael Bird (RCYC) with a ninth and second and Gavin Lynch-Frahill (RCYC) on a third and fourth. Mark Mulrooney and Michael Bird joined Ronan Kenneally in the prizes, finishing second and third overall respectively.

Seán Murphy (KYC) in the Laser Radial, having had a slow beginning to the series, followed by a string of five wins mid-way, finished off with a flourish as he took both wins on the final day and became the 2010 Radial Winner overall and wins the Bruce Matthews Cup for the best performance of a local sailor . Neil Bermingham (KYC), adding two second places to his several previous wins had to accept second place overall, repeating his performance of last year. Luke Hevers (RCYC) despite loosing out to Breifne Muldoon (KYC) who finished third in the two races, had done enough overall to hold onto third place overall, finishing up one of the prizewinners.

John Flynn (Dungarvan SC) in the Laser 4.7 Class, back to business after his lay-off last Sunday and intent on continuing his unblemished run of wins, took the first race but had to concede the last of the day and of the series to Colm O’Regan (KYC). John in addition to winning the 2010 4.7 title was deservedly awarded the Outstanding Performance Overall by a sailor in any fleet.

Mike Field and Victor Fusco (KYC) in the Squib Class continued their winning ways by taking line honours in both races and are deservedly the 2010 Overall Winners of this class and of the Bruce Matthews Trophy. Though their performance was not up to expectations, last year’s winners Alex ballot and Mike Hickey (Dungarvan SC) with a fifth and a second held on to second place overall. Paul McCarthy and Ruth Fusco with a late surge on the final day, by finishing second in the two races, just managed to take third place overall from Mathilde Dingemans and Sylvia Curtis in fourth.

The 420 of Laura and Louise McCarthy (RCYC) prevailed to take this year’s title in the Mixed Dinghy Class, as their two wins helped to keep them out of reach of Dermot Lyden and Peter Stokes (RCYC) in second overall. As the Firefly of Alan Bateman and Keith O’Riordan (KYC) settled into the series, - in recent weeks they were never out of the top three - their second and third on Sunday secured a third place overall.

At the presentation of prizes, Cameron Good KYC Vice-Commodore congratulated the deserving winners and thanked all the sailors for their efforts. Special thanks went to the organizers and all those who had helped both on and off the water to make this annual event such a success. Bruce Matthews the event PRO, who has been associated with the KYC Frostbite League for many years, was on hand to present the Bruce Matthews KYC Trophies for the best local performances in the Laser and Squib Classes won by Seán Murphy and Mike Field respectively.
Finally, a special thank you to our sponsor ASM-Marine

Prize Giving Gallery